Good News for White Rice Lovers

I was having lunch with a friend the other day at a Thai place, and when it came time to order rice, I suggested the brown rice as I usually do because I thought it was the healthier option.  My friend who is originally from Korea, informed me that brown rice isn’t actually the healthier choice because properties in the brown rice such as phytates actually prevent our bodies from absorbing essential nutrients in our food such as zinc and calcium.  Phytates or phytic acid also inhibits enzymes in our bodies from properly breaking down proteins and sugar.  I asked her what her sources were, and she said, they were from Korean reports of doctors and scientists’ findings.

I recently researched it and found this interesting article:

http://www.ancestral-nutrition.com/why-white-rice-is-healthier-than-brown-rice/

 

About Nabawia Elsoudani

Artist Singer Song writer

Posted on September 4, 2016, in Enzymes, health, paleo, Phytate, Phytic acid and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment